CFP (deadline extended to 1 May): Midwest Conference on British Studies, November 4-6, 2011

St Mary's, Terra HauteCALL FOR PAPERS
Midwest Conference on British Studies 57th Annual Meeting
November 4-6, 2011, Terre Haute, IN

The Midwest Conference on British Studies is proud to announce that its
fifty-seventh annual meeting will be hosted by Indiana State University in Terre Haute, IN. The plenary speaker will be Paula Backscheider,
Phillpott-Stephens Eminent Scholar of English Literature at Auburn
University, and author of Eighteenth Century Women Poets and Their Poetry.
Peter Bailey, Professor Emeritus at the University of Manitoba, and the
author of Leisure and Class in Victorian England, will deliver the keynote address. The program will also include panels honoring the career of Hilda Smith, Professor at the University of Cincinnati, and author of All Men and Both Sexes.

The MWCBS seeks papers from scholars in all fields of British Studies, broadly defined to include those who study England, Scotland, Wales, Ireland, and Britain’s empire. We welcome scholars from the broad spectrum of disciplines, including but not limited to history, literature, political science, gender studies and art history. Proposals for complete sessions are preferred, although proposals for individual papers will be considered. Especially welcome are roundtables and panels that:

* offer cross-disciplinary perspectives on topics in British Studies

* discuss collaborative or innovative learning techniques in the British Studies classroom

* situate the arts, letters, and sciences in a British cultural context

* examine representations of British and imperial/Commonwealth national identities

* consider Anglo-American relations, past and present

* examine new trends in British Studies

* assess a major work or body of work by a scholar

The MWCBS welcomes papers presented by advanced graduate students and will award the Walter L. Arnstein Prize at its plenary luncheon for the best graduate student paper(s) given at the conference.

Proposals should include a 200-word abstract for each paper and a brief, 1-page c.v. for each participant, including chairs and commentators. For full panels, please include a brief 200-word preview of the panel as a whole. Please place the panel proposal, and its accompanying paper proposals and vitas in one file. Please make certain that all contact information, particularly email addresses are correct and current. All proposals should be submitted online by May 1, 2011, to the Program Committee Chair, Lia Paradis at

Visit the MWCBS website at <>.

MWCBS Program Committee:  Lia Paradis, Chair, Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania; Gene Beiriger, DePaul University; Lori Campbell, University of Pittsburgh; Essaka Joshua, University of Notre Dame; Chris Otter, Ohio State University; Anne Rodrick, Wofford College.

Post a comment

You may use the following HTML:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>